Blockbuster R.I.P.

I’m as excited as everyone else is about the demise of Blockbuster video.  No other major store has had as much individualized hatred directed at them as Blockbuster.  If you ask anyone about their relationship with the chain video giant, they will assuredly relate a story about late fees and membership status problems.

I have the same type of experiences with Blockbuster and I was even a member of their on-line service (which for a while was better than Netflix).  So I am not terribly upset by their impending bankruptcy.  However,  I am surprised that no one is lamenting the passing of video store browsing.  What was a better third date than dinner and wandering through a video store?  Even when I was alone I just loved walking around the Gemstone/Movie Gallery near my apartment.  I think that place qualified as my third place, because I was there so often and stayed for so long.  I could wander around that place for hours.  I realize that you can look at movies on-line,  but I don’t think it as comparable to holding a case in your hand and knowing you might be popping in that your DVD/VCR combo in a matter of minutes.  Redboxes have good prices and are convenient, but the process sucks for thinking about what you want to do with not just your money but also your time.  I just feel that a huge part of being a cinephile has disappeared.

Well there is always the library.

About magnetandsteel

This is a collaborative blog shared with my wife. We are recent transplants to Jacksonville from Knoxville, TN where we both went to college. Right now we plan on the blog to focus on our everyday passions like photography and cooking as well as the pop culture things we take in on a regular basis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

