Tender

I’ve been reading (technically more perusing) the book Tender by Nigel Slater. Andrew was nice enough to check it out for me since I have wildly abused my library privileges and owe them probably thousands of dollars at this point. The book is really fantastic in that it tells you not only how to cook beautiful fresh vegetables, but also helps you with growing them yourself in your own garden. Also, the pictures are beautiful. While some of the recipes seem a bit repetitive, (i.e. there is some form of a gratin for almost every single vegetable), there are also some really beautiful and inventive dishes to try. Tonight I made A Luxury Cauliflower Cheese – and it was really nice. The recipe begins with the statement, “I enjoy making a bit of a fuss about cheese sauce.” Me too Nigel – me too.  It was  good change of pace from our normal roasted cauliflower (which I still love the most) and a little less extravagant than the amazing cauliflower casserole Andrew’s mom makes.

I’m holding out hope that one day I will have both my very own copy of Tender and my very own beautiful vegetable garden. I’m going to blame my utter lack of success in growing anything this summer on the Florida heat and the disgusting hornworms that made a little baby factory in my tomato plants. Oh, and the rat that keeps stealing my peppers. I’ve included below a pictures of my sad little tomato harvest and of one of the hornworms that enjoyed the rest of my tomatoes.

About magnetandsteel

This is a collaborative blog shared with my wife. We are recent transplants to Jacksonville from Knoxville, TN where we both went to college. Right now we plan on the blog to focus on our everyday passions like photography and cooking as well as the pop culture things we take in on a regular basis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

