Film Project: Bergman

Recently, Lesley and I saw John Waters at the Florida Theater. It was a lot of fun and a good way to start the holiday season. During the question and answer section, someone asked the director what filmmakers inspired him. He immediately responded with Ingmar Bergman. I was surprised when he said that. Mostly because Waters in the self-described King of Sleaze while Bergman has become the poster boy of art-cinema. However, if you look at Bergman’s full oeuvre you can see lots of exploitative elements such as rape, murder, ghosts, genital mutiliation. He even utilizes settings such a circuses and theatres.

Bergman is one of my favorites. Persona may actually be my favorite movie of all time. While I feel I have seen most of his work. I realize that there are some I have not caught. For January I want to try to see four of these.

The Magician (1959)

Summer with Monika (1953)

Through a Glass Darkly (1961)

Scenes from a Marriage (1973)

Faithless (2000)

All of these are on Hulu+ so I have no excuses not to dial them up when ever I want. Faithless was actually directed by Liv Ullman, but was written by Bergman. I am including it, because Waters mentioned it specifically during his talk.

I hope this project will get my brain going for the new year. Yesterday, I watched Tangled for god’s sake.

About magnetandsteel

This is a collaborative blog shared with my wife. We are recent transplants to Jacksonville from Knoxville, TN where we both went to college. Right now we plan on the blog to focus on our everyday passions like photography and cooking as well as the pop culture things we take in on a regular basis.
This entry was posted in Film, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

