Johnny Blaze(r)

“Would you like the antique plates, sir”?

I considered the DMV lady’s request. I had never owned an antique car before. Maybe I could get the tag, pimp this ride out, and even for to some Chevy Blazer shows. This will be the second oldest car I have own (I owned an 85 Pontiac Sunbird for a while but that was in the mid nineties).

Unless you are a gearhead being nostalgic for automobiles doesn’t make a lot of sense. Inherently a new car should run longer, faster and better. Despite these facts, I feel a rather deep affinity for these old eighties cars. One of the favorite vehicles I ever owned was a 1988 Toyota Corolla hatchback, which only coast me 300 dollars. This was less than the replacement starter I should have bought. Unfortunately, my favorite car was consistently left me stranded around Knoxville.

The truck was a gift, so everyday I can drive it is a windfall. Not crazy about 2 doors, but love the cream and brown colors. The only thing that is really missing is a radio. I wish the tape player worked. I have some old cassettes would really make the Blazer hot.

Also a need a name for this truck. Suggestions?

About magnetandsteel

This is a collaborative blog shared with my wife. We are recent transplants to Jacksonville from Knoxville, TN where we both went to college. Right now we plan on the blog to focus on our everyday passions like photography and cooking as well as the pop culture things we take in on a regular basis.
This entry was posted in Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

