Nostalgic Sunday

I had a pretty tough weekend. My new job required me to be at work at 5:30 Saturday and Sunday. I have had early rising jobs before, but something about doing it on a weekend just feels a bit perverse. The kicker was that Lesley and I were set to celebrate our 6th anniversary this weekend. This is the anniversary of our first date, not our wedding which we just celebrated last month. I know that the wedding anniversary will eventually dwarf our previous milestones, but we are always looking for a chance to celebrate.

Despite, my ungodly work schedule on Sunday, I had a wonderful day. Firstly, I was greeted with the news that Roger Federer had won Wimbledon. Fedex is by far my favorite tennis player of all time, and perhaps my favorite athlete. While I was sad to miss his triumphant ascent to the top of the tennis world, his victory made reminisce fondly of all the great matches I had seen him play over the years. Later, my mother treated Lesley and I to a movie at the Downtown west cinema. We saw the newest release from Woody Allen, To Rome With Love. It was great.   I am so excited to watch this late stage resurgence of Woody. The movie was funny, clever, touching, and beautiful. It was what you expect from a Woody Allen film.  I think what made Sunday so special was watching two of my personal heroes, one dominant in the physical realm the other in the creative realm, recapture their former glory. It makes me remember that there is always time to run, draw, create, build, and all the other things that make life worth living.

Also making life worth living? Those roasted peach ginger drinks that Lesley made last week. Great summertime refreshment

About magnetandsteel

This is a collaborative blog shared with my wife. We are recent transplants to Jacksonville from Knoxville, TN where we both went to college. Right now we plan on the blog to focus on our everyday passions like photography and cooking as well as the pop culture things we take in on a regular basis.
This entry was posted in Family, Film, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

