Summer Music Recap (Part 1): Ladies First

So as the days begin to shorten and summer breathes it’s last gasps, I thought I would take a few moments to reflect back on the soundtrack of summer 2012. I am going to start with female artists, mostly because there seem to be a lot more of them.

This might be my favorite of the year. Rather down tempo for a summer song, yet completely catchy and irresistible. I think this girl is going to be huge. Maybe not now, but soon.

I am absolutely crazy of genre switching covers. Anything that gets a weird disco version is going to get a listen from me. Great voice and great version. It is worth looking for the full version.

I am very excited by this artist, She is really fascinating. She seems to work in all kinds of genres and sounds. But she does it effortlessly without using her versatility as a smoke screen to hide how she is not really good at anything (looking at you Janelle Monae). Lianne reminds me of so many people. I’m really excited to hear the whole album.

Great song. great video.

I listened to Patti Smith on all songs considered. Her new album sounds great. There was a time when I had a giant aversion to all things Neil Young. Recently, I have come to have a begrudging respect for him. Patti does this song great. I think she has the tone for it. Lesley thinks it’s a bit slowed down, but I don’t think it hurts the song. The kids at the end? I’m not sure how I feel.

Up next: The fellas.

About magnetandsteel

This is a collaborative blog shared with my wife. We are recent transplants to Jacksonville from Knoxville, TN where we both went to college. Right now we plan on the blog to focus on our everyday passions like photography and cooking as well as the pop culture things we take in on a regular basis.
This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

